The Division of Malaybalay City is indeed blessed in manifold ways this year.  One great blessing is the completion of the new division office building at Casisang, Malaybalay City where its officials, personnel and staff moved last December 1. We couldn’t ask for a better location to serve our clientele.

We gained this building because of the brain play and concerted effort among agencies in all sectors of our cordial community.  Schools Division Superintendents Edilberto L. Oplenaria and Dr. Florante M. Corpuz used all connections to fast tract the release of funds. Together with the city officials and personnel, City Mayor Ignacio W. Zubiri assisted in facilitating the city permits for the construction of this edifice. Employees of BUSECO, Water District, City Engineering Office, School Districts, DAPSSHI, and all stakeholders.

Join me down the memory lane and let’s look back how the Division of Malaybalay City started.

The Division of Malaybalay City was carved from the Division of Bukidnon and was created pursuant to DepEd Order No. 50, s. 2002 (Establishment of Interim City Schools Division) with the objective of attaining  efficient supervision of schools thereby enhance instructional supervision which will consequently raise the performance level of the school children.

By virtue of RA 8490, authored by the late Congressman Reginaldo N. Tilanduca, the municipality of Malaybalay became a component city of Bukidnon on March 22, 1998. As a result, the dream of establishing a separate schools division started as it met the minimum requirement of 750 teachers set by the Department of Education (DepEd) and Department of Budget and Management (DBM) to establish a city division. 

Year 2004, the first attempt to create a separate city schools division was crafted through a resolution passed by the late Hon. Councilor Liberato P. Tortola, Sr. who at that time was the Chairman of the Education Committee. However, the idea was abandoned for being short of focal person in the mother division to closely follow-up the plans and its logistics.

Year 2008, plans were reviewed. Hence, before the end term of Hon. City Mayor Florencio T. Flores Jr., all effort of everyone involved in planning the creation of a city division came to fruition. By virtue of Sangguniang Panlungsod Resolution No. 2008-9923 sponsored by City Councilor Hon. Fernando O. Melendez, the city government represented by Mayor Flores entered into a Memorandum of Agreement with DepEd Regional Director Dr. Estrella Abid-Babano, CESO III.

On September 1, 2009 DepEd dignitaries and Malaybalay City officials witnessed the installation of the City Division Officials at Kaamulan Open Theater, namely: Dr. Florante M. Corpuz, CESO V, Schools Division Superintendent (SDS); PSDS George C. Madronal, OIC, Assistant Schools Division Superintendent (ASDS). The following are the first five education program supervisor designates: Leticia N. Palle (Math), Analy L. Ocier (Science), Luis S. Alajar (TLE & Physical Facilities), Lorenzo O. Capacio (ALS), and Josie Zamora (English).

To assist in the implementation of various programs and projects, the city division organized two major associations, namely: Philippine Elementary Schools Principal Association (PESPA) under the leadership of Principal II Noel A. Tan Nery and Division Association of Secondary Schools Administrators (DASSA) under the stewardship of Principal IV Pariso L. Orong.

Months later, four more officials were added to the promotional staff, to wit:  Ralph T. Quirog (Social Studies), Allan L. Mansaladez (ALS & Planning Officer), Teresita Jordan (Filipino), and Lou Ann Cultura (MAPEH).  Dr. Nancy H. Abao (2009 to 2010) and Dr. Cora T. Asa (2011 to 2012) also served the division as OIC, Assistant Schools Division Superintendent (ASDS).

On August 17, 2012, Mr. Edilberto L. Oplenaria was installed as Schools Division Superintendent (SDS) when the late Dr. Florante M. Corpuz severed his services from DepEd due to illness.

At present, there are six district supervisors and eleven education program supervisors/division coordinators in the promotional section. The number includes Mr. Ralph T. Quirog the OIC Chief on Governance and Ms. Jasmin J. Adriatico, OIC Curriculum Chief.

The accounting section is headed by the very efficient Accountant Rhysa Cyle C. Rosalejos.

The cashiering section is headed by the very amiable Ms. Rufelia J. Limbengco.

The planning section is headed by the computer expert Paul John P. Arias.

The human resource section is headed by the alert Ms. Novem A. Sescon.

The records section is headed by the very meticulous Ms. Florabelle R. Porras.

The supply section is headed by the very precise Ms. Sybil L. Maputi.

The health and nutrition section is headed by Ms. Nancy Dequito.

The administrative officer is Dr. Jutchel L. Nayra.

We also have one librarian in our library hub at Linabo Central School, Ms. Emelyn D. Razo.

From September 1, 2009 until November 30, 2014 (five years and two months), we were allowed to encroach and occupy the Central District Office at Malaybalay City Central School. And now, let it be written in the annals of history that the first superintendent to establish his seat of leadership in this building is the young and indefatigable Schools Division Superintendent Edilberto l. Oplenaria.


Official Website